The Open Society Institute is pleased to announce the Faculty Development Fellowship Program for Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Mongolia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.

The program is designed to enhance the academic careers of outstanding full-time junior faculty teaching American Studies, Art History, Cultural Anthropology, History, Law, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Social Work, or Sociology at an accredited university in participating countries. Each award recipient will spend one semester at a university in the United States and return home to resume teaching. Renewals for up to two additional years are possible. Awards will support up to three non-consecutive semesters at a US university where the grantees will create innovative approaches to reform in their fields of specialization, and develop regional and international partnerships. Approximately 20 awards will be granted in 2008 to start the fellowship in Spring 2009.

The Faculty Development Fellowship is a non-degree program that seeks to encourage pursuit of academic careers by outstanding faculty; generate innovative approaches to curricular and pedagogical reform in the countries served, and support the development of regional and international institutional partnerships and collaborative projects.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must meet the following requirements:

1) Currently hold a full-time teaching position in the field of American studies, art history, cultural anthropology, history, law, philosophy, political science, religion, social work, or sociology at an accredited university in Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Mongolia, Tajikistan, or Uzbekistan.

2) Have an excellent academic record.

3) Possess strong written and spoken English language abilities.

4) Hold an advanced degree (minimum: five-year diploma) from a recognized institution of higher education.

5) Able to begin the program in January 2009 and continue through May 2010.

6) Have approval of home institution rector, vice-rector, dean or chair to be absent January-May 2009 and January-May 2010.

7) Legally residents of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Mongolia, Tajikistan, or Uzbekistan.

The following are ineligible:

1) Teachers of any other subjects outside of those listed in point one "Criteria" above.

2) Teachers of English as a foreign language.

3) Faculty Development Fellowship Program alumni.

4) Persons enrolled in a US academic program.

5) Persons earning a salary or living in the United States.

6) Persons who have spent three or more consecutive months outside of home country since January 2007.

Application Deadline: March 10, 2008. For an application and more information please visit the program web site

No comments: